× Colleges Course Universities School News And Events Blogs Contact Us Student's Speak Login Boards NRI Quota About Us Services Exams Recognition And Approval News And Events

University Of Mysore

Krishnaraja Boulevard Road, K.G Koppal, Mysuru, Karnataka 570006

Quick Info
Established in



University Grants Commission (UGC)



Genders Accepted



The University of Mysore is a public state university in Mysore, Karnataka, India. The university was founded during the reign of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV, the Maharaja of Mysore. It opened on 27 July 1916. Its first chancellor was the Maharaja of Mysore; the first Vice-Chancellor was H. V. Nanjundaiah. The university became the first outside the British administration in India, the sixth in India as a whole, and the first in Karnataka.

It is a state university of the affiliating type and became autonomous on 3 March 1956, when it gained recognition from the University Grants Commission. The university has recently changed academic direction, with a greater emphasis on basic science. It has introduced integrated MSc courses in physics, chemistry, and biochemistry. The University has also made ties with various Chinese universities for resource sharing and training in information technology education. More recently, the Department of Law in the university was integrated into the Mysore University School of Justice (MUSJ).

Enduring with the university's initiative to announce five-year integrated courses to produce professionals with in-depth knowledge, the MUSJ has recommended a program leading to a degree in law,  as a bid to embellish the quality of legal education in Karnataka.


Scholarships are subject to central/state government and college rules.


Admission is based on merit and eligibility criteria. However, candidates need to appear for entrance exams for specific departments of the university.

Why Choose

The main campus is spread over an area of ​​739 acres and surrounded by an expansive 261 acre "Kukkarahallikere". There are more than 1,20,000 undergraduate, postgraduate and M.Phil students covering 63 postgraduate disciplines. A total of 66 accredited research centers, 157 outsourcing/research centers, 8 training centers, and 47 special programs were held in the national association. Continuing 11 sections comprise the National Research Facility. 14 pedestals, 13 DST-FIST, UGC-SAP funded units. A large number of foreign students from 63 countries are learning different subjects from this university reflecting on their international potential. There is a desire to be a world-class university by harnessing the resources of all sections of society by adopting the discipline of consolidating the human wealth of men and women who are well-behaved and capable leaders of tomorrow's rapidly changing world. The university has been recognized as 54th (University Class) and 80th (Overall Division) in Assessment by NIRF-MHRD, Government of India, 2019 Ranked 9th (State Universities) and 15th (Universities of India) in the Best Universities Survey in India by Hansa- The WEEK National Ranking 2017. The University of Mysore was the first university in the state of Karnataka in the year 2000 to be recognized as a "Five Star" by Nak.

Common facilities
Boys Hostel Boys Hostel
Cafeteria Cafeteria
Girls Hostel Girls Hostel
Lab Lab
Library Library
Affiliated colleges under University Of Mysore


The University of Mysore currently has 63 PG departments offering 76 postgraduate programmes with more than 1,20,000 UG, PG, MPhil, and Ph.D. students.

The list of facilities are provided by the University of Mysore is listed below: Directorate of Student Wellness VV Computer Center Directorate of Sports (Physical Education) UGC-CSIR (NET) Training Center International Center Internal Quality Assurance Unit (IQAC) Statistical unit Broadcasting Scheduled Caste / Tribe Unit National Cadet Cops / National Volunteer College Development Board Office of the Administrator Science Development Committee in Schools Dr. S Radhakrishnan Center for Philosophy and Indian Culture V.V. Department of Engineering V.V. Horticulture Division Student Employment Information Guidance Center V.V. Dormitory - industrial exchange unit Folk Museum Health Center Gandhi Bhavan Babysitting Organizational Human Ethics Committee Sensitivity to Prevention and Prevention of University Sexual Abuse (SPARSH) UGC-Ragging Anti-Complaint Online Registration Facility Center for Skill Development and Employment Service (CPDPS) Multimedia Learning Resource Creation Center (MLRCC) - UGC's UPA Project
Ask your doubt about University Of Mysore, Bangalore